Connors Honors Men’s Coach, Renames Court


Muse CelebrationIt was a day of celebration on the Connors State College campus Saturday, Feb. 8, as Cowboys coach and athletic director Bill Muse was honored for his 500th coaching victory and his selection into the National Junior College Athletic Association Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Muse is only the third Oklahoman to be inducted into the NJCAA Athletic Hall of Fame joining former Murray State Coach Gene Robbins and Eastern Oklahoma State player Willie Murrell.

“This means a lot to me because I spent 22 years of my life dedicated to Connors State basketball,” said Muse. “We’ve had a lot of good players and assistant coaches who have meant a lot to me. They have been instrumental in my success. It means a whole lot.”

It was also announced that the court at Melvin Self Field House will be named Bill Muse Court. The naming of the court was approved by the Oklahoma State A&M Board of Regents. He also received a proclamation that Sat. Feb. 8 was Bill Muse Day.

“This has been very emotional for me,” said Muse.” Everything has happened in one year and I never expected, the 500 wins, the naming of the court and now the Hall of Fame.“

With the naming of Bill Muse Court, it becomes only the third court in Oklahoma to be named after a coach, joining Oklahoma State’s legendary head coach Eddie Sutton and Northern Oklahoma-Tonkawa’s Mick Weinberg.

“It’s very special to have your name put on a basketball court and to join my good friends Eddie Sutton, and Mick Weiberg,“ said Muse. “I’ve coached against Mick for years and I’ve watched coach Sutton’s team for years. It a real honor.”

Muse’s 500th victory was recorded on Jan. 20 at Tishomingo when the Cowboys defeated Murray State 77-72 in overtime.